Therewentthebride.com

Tips, Ideas and More from a newlywed San Diego Bride!

Choosing my wedding dress… July 13, 2008

Filed under: Wedding Planning — Bridal Inquirer @ 4:54 pm
Tags: , , ,

I tried on only two gowns before deciding on my dress. The first was an Alfred Angelo dress. I saw this dress in a magazine and thought it was really flattering. My mother and I were going to see “Wicked” while I was living in LA so to kill some time before the play, we stopped by Alfred Angelo. I tried on the dress I had seen in the magazine and although I thought it was pretty, it was just too plain. I also didnt want to buy the first dress I tried on but quickly found out I did not have much time to decide. I never knew that wedding dresses were made to order and took approx 4-6 months to arrive!!! We had already chosen our wedding date which was only 4 1/2 months away! Just a few days later I was thumbing through one of my bride magazines and saw the dress of my dreams. I actually showed it to Chris because I thought there was no chance I could afford it. He tooked one look and said, “that’s hot”…so I knew it was the one. I never told Chris but I found out that Here Comes the Bride was actually having a Tara Keely trunk show the following weekend! Can you say….meant to be??? I called and found out that the dress was more than my mom wanted to pay for a dress, but I knew if I could just try it on, she would fall in love too! And so the dress was mine! We did have to pay for a rush cut and it came in only two weeks before the wedding, but with a few alterations…it was perfect. I LOVED my dress 🙂 Here are the pics of my trips to Alfred Angelo and then to Here Comes the Bride…

 

The first two are at Alfred Angelo and the next two are at Here Comes the Bride…

 

 

 

 

   

And the final dress after a few alterations. I also moved the ribbon to an empire waist and added a broach. I love my dress 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

